things I saw in the Roma Street Parklands

On the only stroll I got up in Brisbane, I spent twenty minutes wandering around Roma Street Parklands in the middle of the city. What a lovely park. I shall make an effort to spend more time there on my next visit.

  • More than twelve huge spiderwebs with spindly spiders about the size of the palm of my hand in the middle (the whole spider, including the legs, were about palm-sized). The first three were OK and then I started to freak out as I stepped back to avoid one, and almost crashed into two more behind me.
  • Red and blue and yellow and pink agapanthus, as well as the more traditional lavender-coloured blooms.
  • A lizard – I think it was a blue-tongue although I didn’t see its tongue! – about two feet long, just standing in the sunshine in the middle of the path.
  • A flowerbed full of red and yellow chilli plants – looked fantastic.
  • A camellia bush in full flower surrounded by blooming garlic plants – they smelled lovely and the delicate white flowers were beautiful.
One thought on “things I saw in the Roma Street Parklands

  1. I have done some homework and looks like those spiders are golden orb spiders – not harmful to humans. Didn’t like them regardless!

Leave a Reply

