The Satanic Verses – Salman Rushdie

This is probably the best book I’ve ever read, and certainly my favourite. With all the furore surrounding this book when it came out, I was put off, but several years later travelling through Mexico I was tempted to pick it up. I couldn’t put it down. I was unprepared for the fact that it was a funny book, a comical story of Gibreel and Saladin who spend the first 40 or so pages having a conversation whilst falling through the sky from a plane crash.

I definitely identified the point at which Rushdie incurred the wrath of the Ayatollah, but instead of horrific blasphemy I saw a committed Muslim poking fun at a religion he loves – something I can identify with having been brought up a Catholic. This book was the start of a long love affair with Rushdie’s writing; I have now read everything he has written, and I await each new book with enthusiasm. 

Can’t recommend it highly enough.

Leave a Reply

